Google announces the trash files are stored in cloud storage offering Google Drive after 30 days they are going to be deleted automatically starting from October 13, 2020.
Google said “Starting October 13, 2020, we’re changing the retention policies for items in the Trash in Google Drive.
With this new policy, any file that is put into a Google Drive trash will be automatically deleted after 30 days.”
“Any files already in a user’s trash on October 13, 2020, will remain there for 30 days.
After the 30-day period, files that have been in the trash for longer than 30 days will begin to be automatically deleted.”
Google says Drie now matches Gmail and other services to “ensure behavior is consistent and predictable for users across G Suite products.”
It’s also meant to fall in line with user expectations for “deleting “ a file while providing enough to change their mind.
From today onwards, Google Drive will feature an in-app notification informing all users of this change, with a message in Docs, Sheets, Slides, etc. following on September 29.
THE ADDITIONAL DETAILS OF POLICY CHANGE NOTES :
Admins can still restore items deleted from a user’s trash for up to 25 days for active users.
Retention policies set by admins in Google Vault are not affected by this change unless they become obsolete as they are now redundant.
These changes affect items that are trashed from my device and any platform.
Files deleted via Drive File Stream will be purged from the system trash after 30 days. There is no impact on backup and Sync behaviour.
Files in shared drives trash are already automatically deleted after 30 days.
Items in the trash will still continue to consume quota.
More Technology News Click Here